Weihnachtsmann rot

Challenge from 11. December

Kerfuffle at Sugarloaf Mountain
Previously, there was an error in the English PDF version of the challenge: It was written that s=20km, instead of s=60km.

This is now corrected. Sorry!

Authors: Ariane Beier, David Rueda

Challenge:

A tense atmosphere wafts around Sugarloaf Mountain, a snowy mountain in the middle of the Erz Mountains near the small town Rüodeschanerow. The cable car, which runs from Candy Valley to Point Jelly Bean, is out of order. Hence, Santa Claus has to take his sleigh to deliver all the presents to the young and old inhabitants of Point Jelly Bean.

The reindeers are not happy to hear that: The shortest path from Candy Valley to Point Jelly Bean along the cable car is far too steep; so they have to gallop all around the mountain. However, road engineer Greta Gnome is able to calm the grumpy animals: “The shortest path from Candy Valley to Point Jelly Bean that goes all around the Sugarloaf Mountain is not awfully long. Besides, you can sled downhill on a quite significant part of this path.”

Now, we want to know: How long is the shortest path x  from Candy Valley to Point Jelly Bean that goes all around Sugarloaf Mountain? And how long is the part y  of this path that leads downhill?


PIC

Figure 1: Sugerloaf Mountain is exactly formed like a right circular cone. Its directrix has radius r = 20km  ; its generatrices s  are 60km  long. Candy Valley is situated at the foot of Sugarloaf Mountain. Point Jelly Bean lies on the generatrix joining Candy Valley and the summit of the Mountain; its distance from Candy Valley on this generatrix is 10km  .


Artwork: Sonja Rörig

PDF download

Possible answers:

  1. One has x ≈ 92km  and y ≈ 39km  .

  2. One has x ≈ 92km  and y ≈ 40km  .

  3. One has x ≈ 93km  and y ≈ 40km  .

  4. One has x ≈ 93km  and y ≈ 41km  .

  5. One has x ≈ 94km  and y ≈ 41km  .

  6. One has x ≈ 94km  and y ≈ 42km  .

  7. One has x ≈ 95km  and y ≈ 42km  .

  8. One has x ≈ 95km  and y ≈ 43km  .

  9. One has x ≈ 96km  and y ≈ 43km  .

  10. One has x ≈ 96km  and y ≈ 44km  .

You have to log in to be able to submit your answer.

Weihnachtsmann rot

Aufgabe vom 11. Dezember

Aufregung am Zuckerhut

Autoren: Ariane Beier, David Rueda

Aufgabe:

Es herrscht eine angespannte Stimmung am Zuckerhut, einem verschneiten Berg bei Rüodeschanerow im Erzgebirge: Die Seilbahn, mit der üblicherweise die Weihnachtsgeschenke der kleinen und großen Einwohner von Weingummihöhe vom Ort Bonbontal am Fuße des Zuckerhuts transportiert werden, ist defekt. Nun muss sich der Weihnachtsmann also mit dem Schlitten auf die Socken machen.

Die Rentiere maulen: Der kürzeste Weg von Bonbontal nach Weingummihöhe entlang der Seilbahnstrecke ist viel zu steil, sie müssen also wohl oder übel einmal um den Berg herum galoppieren. Straßenbauingenieurin Wilma Wichtel kann die missmutigen Tiere beruhigen: „Der kürzeste Weg von Bonbontal nach Weingummihöhe, der einmal um den Berg herumführt, ist gar nicht soo lang. Außerdem könnt ihr einen nicht unerheblichen Teil davon auf dem Schlitten bergab düsen.“

Wir wollen von euch wissen: Wie lang ist der kürzeste Weg x  von Bonbontal nach Weingummihöhe, der einmal um den Berg herumführt? Und welcher Teilweg y  dieses Weges führt bergab?


PIC

Abbildung 1: Der Zuckerhut hat exakt die Form eines geraden Kegels mit kreisförmiger Grundfläche vom Radius r = 20km  und Mantellinie s = 60km  . Der Ort Bonbontal liegt am Fuße des Berges. Weingummihöhe liegt auf der Strecke von Bonbontal zum Gipfel des Berges in einer Entfernung von 10km  von Bonbontal.


Illustration: Sonja Rörig

Die Aufgabe als PDF runterladen

Antwortmöglichkeiten:

  1. Es gilt x ≈ 92km  und y ≈ 39km  .

  2. Es gilt x ≈ 92km  und y ≈ 40km  .

  3. Es gilt x ≈ 93km  und y ≈ 40km  .

  4. Es gilt x ≈ 93km  und y ≈ 41km  .

  5. Es gilt x ≈ 94km  und y ≈ 41km  .

  6. Es gilt x ≈ 94km  und y ≈ 42km  .

  7. Es gilt x ≈ 95km  und y ≈ 42km  .

  8. Es gilt x ≈ 95km  und y ≈ 43km  .

  9. Es gilt x ≈ 96km  und y ≈ 43km  .

  10. Es gilt x ≈ 96km  und y ≈ 44km  .

Sie müssen sich einloggen um die Aufgaben abgeben zu können.