Weihnachtsmann rot

Challenge from 3. December

Sneaky Elves
In an earlier version, we forgot the words "equal" and "equally". Sorry for any inconvinience!

Author: Ariane Beier

Project: MATH+ School Activities

Challenge:

For their good work today, the five sneaky elves Charlie, Kim, Luca, Mika, and Ulli received big box with finitely many, whole, delicious coconut macaroons from Santa himself. Worn out from the exhausting day, they carry the box home and go to bed immediately while yawning loudly. Now, the box sits on the elves' kitchen table, where it is guarded by the elves' dog Anouk.

At 10:34 p.m., Charlie sneaks into the kitchen, gives a macaroon from the box to Anouk, divides the remaining macaroons into five equal parts (while not dividing a single macaroon), pouches one part, rearranges the residual four parts into a big pile, and returns to bed with a cunning grin on the face. At 11:56 p.m., Kim tiptoes into the kitchen, gives a macaroon from the box to Anouk, divides the remaining macaroons into five equal parts (without splitting single macaroons), puts one of theses parts into the pyjama pockets, shoves the other four parts into a pile, and slips off to bed looking very pleased. At 1:45 a.m., 3:17 a.m., and 4:23 a.m., Luca, Mika, and Ulli, respectively, repeat this procedure.

Despite the wakeful night, the elves are in a very good mood at 9:00 a.m. and meet for breakfast. They offer a breakfast macaroon to Anouk and split the remains of the coconut macaroons equally among themselves (again, dividing none of the single macaroons).

How many coconut macaroons does Kim at least get altogether?

Illustration: Frauke Jansen

PDF download

Possible answers:

  1. 35

  2. 352

  3. 3,522

  4. 35,223

  5. 352,230

  6. 3,522,300

  7. 35,223,004

  8. 352.230.042

  9. 3,522,300,421

  10. 35,223,004,219

You have to log in to be able to submit your answer.

Weihnachtsmann rot

Aufgabe vom 3. Dezember

Fünf listige Elfen

Autorin: Ariane Beier

Projekt: MATH+ Schulaktivitäten

Aufgabe:

Die fünf listigen Weihnachtselfen Charlie, Kim, Luca, Mika und Ulli haben als Belohnung für ihre harte Arbeit am heutigen Tag eine große Box mit endlich vielen, ganzen, leckeren Kokosmakronen vom Weihnachtsmann bekommen. Sie tragen sie geschafft nach Hause und gehen laut gähnend ins Bett. In der Elfen-Küche steht die Box nun auf dem Tisch und wird von Anouk, dem Hund der Elfen, bewacht.

Um 22:34 Uhr schleicht sich Charlie in die Küche, gibt Anouk eine der Kokosmakronen aus der Box, teilt die übrigen Makronen in fünf gleiche Teile (wobei keine einzelne Makrone geteilt wird), steckt sich einen Teil ein, schiebt die verbleibenden vier Teile wieder zu einem Makronenhaufen zusammen und geht grinsend wieder ins Bett. Um 23:56 Uhr huscht Kim auf Zehenspitzen in die Küche, gibt Anouk eine Kokosmakrone aus der Box, teilt die verbleibenden Makronen in fünf gleiche Teile (ohne auch nur eine Makrone zu teilen), packt sich einen Teil in die Pyjamatasche, schiebt die übrigen vier Teile wieder zu einem Haufen zusammen und verkrümelt sich zufrieden ins Bett. Um 1:45 Uhr, 3:17 Uhr und 4:23 Uhr wiederholen Luca, Mika bzw. Ulli dieses Vorgehen.

Trotz der unruhigen Nacht treffen sich die listigen Elfen um 9:00 Uhr gut gelaunt zum Frühstück. Sie geben Anouk eine Frühstücksmakrone und teilen den Rest der Kokosmakronen aus der Box zu gleichen Teilen untereinander auf (wobei auch hier keine Makrone geteilt werden muss).

Über wie viele Kokosmakronen kann sich Kim insgesamt mindestens freuen?

Illustration: Frauke Jansen

Die Aufgabe als PDF runterladen

Antwortmöglichkeiten:

  1. 35

  2. 352

  3. 3.522

  4. 35.223

  5. 352.230

  6. 3.522.300

  7. 35.223.004

  8. 352.230.042

  9. 3.522.300.421

  10. 35.223.004.219

Sie müssen sich einloggen um die Aufgaben abgeben zu können.