Weihnachtsmann rot

Challenge from 1. December

Perfect Christmas Pudding
Of course, we are looking for the first digit of the fractional part of the volume V0 in l.

Authors: Ariane Beier, Catriona Shearer

Challenge:

The famous cooking gnome Oliver James made three of his delicious Christmas puddings for the elves’ Christmas party.

The stuffy elf Symmetrix is pretty annoyed at the sight of the three puddings and notes grumpily: “Was is not possible for this bungler to produce three perfectly alike puddings of the same size?!”

Elf Geometria is however very delighted: “Look how beautifully arranged these Christmas puddings are: all three are shaped exactly like hemispheres. Each one of them is placed onto its flat side with its vault directed towards the ceiling. The lower two puddings sit side by side on a flat plane, and they touch at exactly one point. They are of different size; however, the upper pudding, which is placed onto the lower two, has exactly the right size such that its diameter conincides with the distance of the contact points of the lower puddings with their mutual tangent plane.” See Figure 1.


PIC

Figure 1: The diagram shows the cross section of the three Christmas puddings.

We want to know: If the bigger of the two lower Christmas puddings is of volume V1 = 15l  , and the smaller one is of volume V2 = 10l  , what is the first digit of the fractional part of the volume V0   of the upper Christmas pudding?


Artwork: Frauke Jansen

PDF download

Possible answers:

  1. 1

  2. 2

  3. 3

  4. 4

  5. 5

  6. 6

  7. 7

  8. 8

  9. 9

  10. 0

You have to log in to be able to submit your answer.

Comment:

Catriona Shearer, the author of this challenge, is a math teacher at a secondary school in Cambridge, UK. As @Cshearer41, she posts a new geometric puzzle every day on Twitter. Warning: Highly addictive!

Weihnachtsmann rot

Aufgabe vom 1. Dezember

Weihnachtskuchen
Gesucht ist natürlich die erste Nachkommastelle des Volumens V0 in l.

Autoren: Ariane Beier, Catriona Shearer

Aufgabe:

Der berühmte britische Kochwichtel Oliver James hat für die Weihnachtsfeier der Mathematikerelfen drei vorzügliche Weihnachtskuchen gebacken.

Der pedantische Elf Symmetrix kriegt vom Anblick der Kuchen schlechte Laune und ärgert sich: „Hätte dieser Stümper nicht wenigstens drei exakt gleich große Kuchen backen können?“

Elfe Geometria aber freut sich: „Schau doch, wie schön die drei exakt halbkugelförmigen Weihnachtskuchen angeordnet sind: Alle drei Kuchen liegen mit ihren Wölbungen nach oben. Die beiden unteren Kuchen liegen nebeneinander auf einer flachen Ebene und berühren sich in genau einem Punkt. Sie sind zwar unterschiedlich groß, aber der obere Kuchen, der auf den beiden unteren Kuchen liegt, hat genau die richtige Größe, sodass sein Durchmesser dem Abstand der beiden Berührpunkte der unteren beiden Kuchen an deren gemeinsame Tangentialebene entspricht.“ Siehe Abbildung 1.


PIC

Abbildung 1: Die Skizze zeigt die drei Kuchen im Querschnitt.

Wir wollen von euch wissen: Wenn der größere der unteren Kuchen das Volumen V1 = 15l  hat und der kleinere von beiden das Volumen V2 = 10l  , wie lautet dann die erste Nachkommastelle des Volumens V0   des oberen Kuchens?


Illustration: Frauke Jansen

Die Aufgabe als PDF runterladen

Antwortmöglichkeiten:

  1. 1

  2. 2

  3. 3

  4. 4

  5. 5

  6. 6

  7. 7

  8. 8

  9. 9

  10. 0

Sie müssen sich einloggen um die Aufgaben abgeben zu können.

Bemerkung:

Catriona Shearer, die Autorin dieser Aufgabe, ist Mathematiklehrerin an einer Oberschule in Cambridge, Großbritannien. Seit August veröffentlicht sie fast täglich ein neues geometrisches Rätsel auf Twitter unter @Cshearer41. Warnung: Kann süchtig machen!